Super Eagles’ Afcon Qualification: NFF Applauds Three State Governments


The three-time African champions failed to qualify for the 2015 and 2017 editions of the continental tournaments but suffered no such embarrassment  this time around

The Nigeria Football Federation has sent their heartfelt appreciation to the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari, for his support following the Super Eagles qualification for the next edition of the Africa Cup of Nations.

The country’s football body also applauded Akwa Ibom, Delta, Edo, and Lagos states’ governments for hosting the national team during a gruelling 2022 Afcon qualifying campaign.

For the third consecutive tournaments, Nigeria qualified with games to spare after finishing top of Group L with 14 points.

The Super Eagles were one of only seven sides who went unbeaten throughout the group stages, winning four and drawing two matches.

Nigeria’s opening group match, a 2-1 defeat of the Benin Republic, was played at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo.

The Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City hosted the team’s matchday three fixture, a shocking 4-4 draw against Sierra Leone.

And after a 20-year absence, the Super Eagles returned to Lagos, where they defeated Lesotho 3-0 at the Teslim Balogun Stadium on Tuesday to conclude the campaign on a high.

And President of the NFF, Mr Amaju Melvin Pinnick, has stated appreciation of all government agencies who were of help along the way.

“The Governments of Akwa Ibom, Delta, Edo and Lagos States played the role of good hosts to the Super Eagles before and during the campaign and were very magnanimous to the players and officials,” the FIFA Council Member told the body’s website.

CHECK IT OUT:  Lagos To Ban Okada Next Week, Police Seize 480 Guns From Okada Riders

“The NFF is very, very grateful to them because, without them, the task would have been close to insurmountable.”

The Super Eagles sealed qualification for Cameroon 2022 ahead of the final two matches against the Benin Republic and Lesotho.

The three-time African champions also qualified for the 2018 FIFA World Cup and the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations with a game to spare.

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

See How NaijaCover.Com Make Money From Blogging Business, CLICK HERE