Super Falcons star Oparanozie snubbed again as Nigeria invite Oshoala, 24 others for USA tour


The France-based forward has not played for the national team since the conclusion of the 2019 World Cup and will not be part of the party heading to the States next month

Super Falcons head coach Randy Waldrum has included team captain Asisat Oshoala, veteran defender Onome Ebi, and ten home-based stars in a provisional list of 25 players for the upcoming Summer Series tour of the United States of America.

But once again, Dijon forward Desire Oparanozie has been omitted from the squad scheduled to play four-time world champions USA, Portugal, and Jamaica in June.

The 27-year-old has been in trouble with the Nigerian football authorities since leading a sit-in protest over unpaid bonuses and allowances at the 2019 World Cup in France.

As a result of which she was not invited as part of the 23-player squad for the Turkish Women’s Cup, which the nine-time African champions won in February.

Oparanozie scored three goals in four games to power Nigeria to victory at the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations in Ghana.

Meanwhile, the squad announced by the NFF includes reigning African footballer of the year Oshoala, who recently claimed the UEFA Women Champions League with Barcelona.

Also on the list is veteran defender Onome Ebi, young France-based goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, former USA youth international Toni Payne, and US-born Patricia George.

The continent’s most successful national side with nine African titles will kick off their first game of the glamour tournament against Jamaica on June 10 before squaring up against Portugal three days later. The Super Falcons’ last match will be against four-time FIFA Women World Cup winners USA on June 16.

CHECK IT OUT:  EYAH!! “I Consulted A Native Doctor After Suspecting My Wife Of Cheating, Now They Are Sleeping Together” – Man Reveals


Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (CD Pozoalbense, Spain); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Inyene Etim (Abia Angels FC)

Defenders: Onome Ebi (Minsk FC, Belarus); Gloria Ogbonna (Edo Queens FC); Osinachi Ohale (Madrid CFF, Spain); Oluwatosin Dimehin (Sunshine Queens FC); Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF, Spain); Abidemi Ibe (Bayelsa Queens FC); Patricia George (Sands FC, Germany); Esther Ogbonna (Sunshine Queens FC)

Midfielders: Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Celine Ottah (Bayelsa Queens FC); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Amanda Mbadi (Bayelsa Queens FC)

Forwards: Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Vivian Ikechukwu (Rivers Angels FC); Uchenna Kanu (Linkopings FC, Sweden); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Francisca Ordega (Levante FC, Spain); Gift Monday (FC Robo Queens); Joy Bokiri (Bayelsa Queens FC); Charity Adule (SD Eibar FC, Spain)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

See How NaijaCover.Com Make Money From Blogging Business, CLICK HERE